Baltic Sea Competition

Carl International Film Festival 2018 presents a competition programme for feature films from the Baltic Sea region – Baltic Sea Competition. August 28, the winners were presented. Olga Chajdas received the award for Best Director with her film Nina (Poland), which had its Nordic premiere during the festival. The award for Best Screenwriter went to Isabella Eklöf, Ali Abbasi and John Ajvide Lindqvist for Border(Sweden). 

This year Carl International Film Festival is launching the festival’s first competitive programme,  Baltic Sea Competition. 10 feature films from the countries surrounding the Baltic Sea will compete for the Director’s award and the Screenwriter’s award, the latter presented by partner Litorina Folkhögskola. The awards are followed by a cash prize of SEK 25 000 each and our newly designed CIFF statuette.

Setting out to showcase the best films from the talents of the region, Baltic Sea Competition will recognize directing and screenwriting achievements among the competing films. The programme is open to both feature fiction and feature documentaries with a strong narrative and cinematic language that in some way corresponds with the festival’s values of openness and freedom.

The 2nd edition of Carl International Film Festival will be held August 24 – 29 in Karlskrona, Sweden and the full festival program will be presented in the beginning of August.

Baltic Sea Competition 2018
A Moment in the Reeds 
(Finland, Mikko Makela)
Border (Sweden, Ali Abbasi)
Breathing into Marble (Lithuania, Giedrė Beinoriūtė)
Denmark (Denmark, Kasper Rune Larsen)
Foam at the Mouth (Latvia, Jänis Nords)
Going West (Norway, Henrik Martin Dahlsbakken)
Nina (Poland, Olga Chajdas)
Suleiman Mountain (Russia, Elizaveta Stishova)
The Manslayer / The Virgin / The Shadow (Estonia, Sulev Keedus)
Transit (Germany, Christian Petzold)

Baltic Sea Competition Jury 2018

The jury, consisting of Miira Paasilinna (producer/sales), Sanjin Pejković (film critic) and Helene Granqvist (producer), will decide on which films receive the prizes. The best manuscript also includes Marjo Portin from Litorina Folkhögskola.

Helene Granqvist, Miira Paasilinna, Sanjin Pejković

Miira Paasilinna, President of Anagram Sweden / Chairman of The Yellow Affair

Strengthening Nordic film and television internationally, during Miira Paasilinna’s career has been a key element. After working for a number of years with the Finnish-based sales company The Yellow Affair, she recently became President of the production company Anagram in Sweden, which stands behind everything from Gabriela Pichler’s Eat Sleep Die to the comedy group Hipp Hipp.

Helene Granqvist, producer Nordic Factory / chairman of WIFT International

With an uncompromising involvement in social issues about social development, gender equality and power structures, Helene Granqvist is an acclaimed producer. Recently appointed chairman of Women In Film and Tv International, which visualizes and strengthens professional women in film and television. Producer of the documentary Gudrun – The Feminst premiering now on theatres.

Sanjin Pejković, film scholar och film critic

During his career, Sanjin Pejković has focused on questions about nationalism, European film history and minority film. As a critic, he has extensively written for film magazines such as FLM and Film Box, as well as several international film magazines and film journals. On several occasions participated as a jury in various film festivals worldwide, as a member of the international film critic federation FIPRESCI.